Centralina Announces the 2015 Advanced Manufacturing Awards

The Centralina Economic Development Commission (CEDC), Centralina Workforce Development Board, Centralina Council of Governments (CCOG) and other partner organizations announced the winners of the Annual Advanced Manufacturing Awards at an event held at Embassy Suites Concord on February 25.

The awards recognize and celebrate process excellence, leadership and collaboration in Advanced Manufacturing displayed in the region during 2014. The Advanced Manufacturing Awards were established in 2010 through the Minds that Manufacture initiative, led by the CEDC. The awards were created to support and highlight advanced manufacturing in our region and promote a hot spot of bright minds, new ideas, innovative talent and resources.

The keynote speaker for this event was Jay Williams, U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce and head of the Economic Development Administration. CLICK HERE for a video interview with Mr. Williams.

Selected by an independent judging panel with managers from manufacturing firms, academic and research leaders, this year’s winners include:

  • McCreary Modern, Inc. – Corporate Leadership
  • Siemens Charlotte Energy Hub and UNC Charlotte's Energy Production and Infrastructure Center – Best Collaboration
  • Bosch Rexroth Partnership with Olympic Community of Schools - Best Collaboration
  • Shawn Campion, Integro Technologies Corp. – Emerging Leader
  • Rebeca Espinal - Student Leadership

The Advanced Manufacturing Awards help Centralina Council of Governments to recognize and reward advanced manufacturing in our region and helps to form public-private partnerships with organizations and industry on many levels. Through these strong partnerships, Centralina Council of Governments can help increase workforce investment and create more local jobs for the Greater Charlotte region.

To find out more about the awards and advanced manufacturing in our region log on to http://www.mindsthatmanufacture.com/. For more information on the Advanced Manufacturing Awards please contact Victoria Rittenhouse at (704) 688-6502 or by email at vrittenhouse@centralina.org.

Related Counties: AllCounties     
Related COG Areas: Community and Economic Development